Overwatch Update
YouTube/ PlayOverwatch

Overwatch Update Adds Deathmatch Mode: Here’s How it Works

The latest Overwatch update now brings new modes to further enhance players’ enjoyment of the hit game. These modes will be known as Deathmatch and Team Deathmatch. Here’s what you need to know.

Overwatch Update: Deathmatch

Essentially, Deathmatch is a Free-For-All mode. As such, eight players will go head-to-head, with the game ending once one player accumulates 20 points. Players can gain one point by landing a killing blow. On the other hand, they lose a point whenever they are killed off by environmental damage. Additionally, the top four ranking players will get to take home win credits for their Arcade loot box.

Overwatch Update: Team Deathmatch

Team Deathmatch works similarly to Deathmatch. However, this time around, it involves the traditional set-up of two teams composed of six players. The first team to reach 30 points win. Obtaining and losing points follows the same approach as that of Deathmatch’s.

With the emergence of these modes, developer Blizzard Entertainment reveals that existing maps will consequently be modified to accommodate Deathmatch and Team Deathmatch. These include the likes of Hanamura, Temple of Anubis, King’s Row, Black Forest, and Necropolis.

As to when Deathmatch and Team Deathmatch will officially be released remains unknown. Regardless, the fact that these modes will soon come to Overwatch is an exciting prospect to look forward to overall.

Overwatch Summer Games 2017

In other news, the Overwatch Summer Games 2017 is now in full play. This year’s Overwatch Summer Games brings the return of Lucioball. For the uninitiated, Lucioball is essentially an adaptation of football. Notably, however, it boasts of simpler rules and some updates that cater to the character Lucio and his abilities. It is an Overwatch Summer Games-exclusive Brawl game mode.

The Overwatch Summer Games 2017 also features some new skins for characters. Interestingly, the game also brings back old skins from the Overwatch Summer Games 2016. Furthermore, this year’s festivities will feature a map of Sydney, Australia. It will additionally see the return of 2016’s Rio map.

What is Overwatch?

Overwatch is a team-based multiplayer online first-person shooter video game. Brought to fans by Blizzard Entertainment, it was released back in May 2016 for the PS4, Xbox One, and Windows. The game segregates players in two teams of six for matches. Players can choose from a roster of characters who fall under one of four general roles: Offense, Defense, Support, and Tank.

Since its release, Overwatch has managed to amass quite the following and critical acclaim. It boasts of bagging different awards, including several Game of the Year accolades and Best Multiplayer titles. Subsequently, Overwatch has also ventured into the eSports arena with the Overwatch League.

ALSO READ: Zelda: Breath of the Wild Update Adds Tips From the Wild – Here’s How it Works

About Regina Inonog

Check Also

Street Fighter 5 DLC

Street Fighter 5 DLC Celebrates Franchise’s 30th Anniversary With New Costumes

The Street Fighter franchise is in full swing with its 30th anniversary festivities. In fact, ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *